Welcome to Australian Hostels Association, WA

2012 AHA-Aon Hotel & Hospitality Awards for Excellence

Presented at the Heineken Gala Ball

Recognition of high standards of excellence in the hospitality industry was celebrated in the Grand Ballroom at Crown Perth on Monday 12 November 2012. The Heineken Gala Ball and the presentation of the 2012 AHA-Aon Hotel and Hospitality Awards for Excellence was a night of celebration, entertainment and allure.

The evening showcased a tribute to the AHA(WA)'s 120 Anniversary, as well as exploring the drama and suspense of the new James Bond film, Skyfall.

Attended by over 1,100 guests and with the presentation of 43 awards the prestigious event celebrated and recognised the best of Western Australia's hospitality.

In recognition of the AHA(WA)'s 120 years of service to members, Mr Robert Ramage was presented an Honorary Life Member Award, celebrating his 50 years of service to the industry.

Australian Hotels Association (WA) CEO, Bradley Woods, said "For 120 years the AHA has represented the hospitality industry in Western Australia. The diverse field of finalists for this year's Awards for Excellence shows that as we celebrate our 120th anniversary our members continue to provide the finest hospitality to patrons and guests."

View the photo gallery here.
View the media release here. 

AON, Lion, Heineken




Aon Risk Services Community Service Award
Winner:  Settlers Tavern 

The Lion Bar Presentation and Service Award
Winner:  Malt Supper Club 
Certificate of Merit: The Boheme Bar & Restaurant

Responsible Service of Alcohol Award sponsored by Coca-Cola Amatil
Winner: The Shed

Training Initiative Award sponsored by Hospitality Group Training
Winner: Parmelia Hilton Perth
Certificate of Merit: Kimberley Accommodation 

School/Community Partnership Training Award sponsored by FutureNow
Winner:  Crown Perth 

Innovation Award sponsored by Trans Tasman Energy Group
Winner: Boab Tavern

Marketed Venue Award sponsored by Premium Beverages
Winner: Matso's Broome Brewery 

Retail Bottleshop Outlet Award sponsored by ME Bank
Winner:  Steves Fine Wine & Food 

Safe Cellar Award sponsored by BOC
Winner:  Murphy's Irish Pub 

Small Bar Award sponsored by 21st Century Business Equipment
Winner: Andaluz Bar & Tapas
Certificate of Merit: The Provincial Cafe & Wine Bar

Mixology and Cocktail Menu Award sponsored by Schweppes
Winner:  The Classroom 

Late Night Venue Award sponsored by Red Bull Australia  
Winner:  Llama Bar 

Environmental Initiative Award sponsored by Synergy
Winner:  Greenhouse

Tourism Initiative Award sponsored by JAZ Visual Communication  
Winner:  Sandalford Wines 

Redeveloped Venue Award sponsored by Mal Atwell Billiards & Bingo  
Winner:  The Heritage Bar, Brasserie & Boardroom 

Outdoor Area Award
Winner: The Rosemount Hotel

Winery Cellar Door Award sponsored by Tourism WA
Winner:  Howard Park Wines
Certificate of Merit: Stella Bella 

Boutique Brewery Award sponsored by BOC
Joint Winners: Cheeky Monkey Brewery
Joint Winners: Colonial Brewing Company 

Conference and Banquet Award sponsored by Perth Convention Bureau
Winner:  Hyatt Regency Perth 

Pub/Hotel Accommodation Award sponsored by PLUS 8 Hospitality Group
Winner:  The Bull and Bush Tavern 



Bar Services Employee Award sponsored by Diageo
Winner: Shane Allchurch, Fiver Bar 
Certificate of Merit: Nicole Reid, The Classroom 

Cookery Services Employee Award sponsored by Comcater
Winner: Scott Alfonso, Andaluz Bar & Tapas
Certificate of Merit: David Hegarty, Boab Tavern

Front Office Services Employee Award sponsored by HOSTPLUS
Winner: Amanda Maree Rottman, Metro Hotel Perth

Food and Beverage Services Employee Award sponsored by Staging Connections
Winner: Troy Landers, The Inglewood Hotel

Administration Employee Award sponsored by HOSTPLUS
Winner: Robin Strauss, Divers Tavern

Excellence in Service Award sponsored by Easy Payroll
  Ben Powell, 399
Joint Winners: Brett Lubicz, Universal Bar 
Joint Winners:

AHA - HGT Hotel Industry Rising Star Award sponsored by AHA(WA) and Hospitality Group Training
Winner:  Danae Botica, Pan Pacific Perth 

PubTAB Operator sponsored by TAB
Winner: Caroline Lloyd, Peel Alehouse

Venue Manager Award sponsored by HISCO Hospitality & Healthcare
Winner: Edward Janiec, Murphy's Irish Pub
Certificate of Merit: Matt Marinich, The Quarie Bar and Brasserie



TAB Hotel/PubTAB Venue Award sponsored by TAB
Winner: The Brook Bar & Bistro

Sporting Entertainment Venue Award sponsored by FOX SPORTS
Winner: Paddington Alehouse 

Live Entertainment Venue Award sponsored by APRA|AMCOS
Winner: The Rosemount Hotel
Certificate of Merit: Mojo's Bar

Themed Venue Award sponsored by Coca-Cola Amatil
Winner: The Classroom 



WA's Best Steak Sandwich Award sponsored by Meat Direct
Joint Winners: The Bridgetown Hotel
Joint Winners: The Generous Squire

Bar Menu Award sponsored by DC Payments formerly Customers ATM
Joint Winners: Kitsch Bar
Joint Winners: The Breakwater

Bistro Award sponsored by Accolade Wines
Winner: Bailey Bar & Bistro

Casual Family Dining Award sponsored by Perth Glory FC
Winner:  The Quarie Bar & Brasserie 

Restaurant Award sponsored by Coffex Coffee
Winner:  Rockpool Bar & Grill Perth 

Hotel Restaurant Award sponsored by 92.9
Winner: The Breakwater

Hotel Wine List Award sponsored by Miles from Nowhere
Joint Winners: Rockpool Bar & Grill Perth
Joint Winners:  Raffles Hotel 



WA's Best Regional Venue 2012 sponsored by H & L Australia
Winner: Matso's Broome Brewery

The AHA De Bortoli/6PR Perth's Pub of the Year sponsored by AHA, De Bortoli and 6PR
Winner: The Gate Bar and Bistro 

WA's Best Hospitality Venue 2012 sponsored by Furniture Options
Winner: The Breakwater


Corporate Sponsor - AON Risk Services
SWS Group
Tip Top Food Service
Perth Airport