Welcome to Australian Hostels Association, WA

2010 AHA-Aon Hotel Awards for Excellence

Standards of excellence in Western AustraliaÂ’s hotel and hospitality industry were recognised at the XXXX Summer Bright Lager Ball and the presentation of the 2010 AHA Aon Hotel Awards for Excellence held in the Grand Ballroom at Burswood Entertainment Complex on Monday 8 November 2010. Lion Nathan

Finalists and winners across 50 categories were recognised for their achievements across a range of
categories including standards of excellence in service; presentation; the responsible service of alcohol;
innovation; redevelopment; tourism and accommodation.

Australian Hotels Association (WA) CEO, Bradley Woods, said the nightÂ’s celebrations took on greater importance given the regulatory landscape in which the industry has to operate.

Click here to read the media release   

Click here to see photos from the evening 2010 Awards for Excellence



Hotel Awards

Aon Risk Services Community Service Award
Winner: The Gate Bar and Bistro

The Lion Nathan Bar Presentation & Service Award
Winner: The Breakwater

Responsible Service of Alcohol Award sponsored by Coca-Cola Amatil 
Winner : Burswood Entertainment Complex (Hall of Fame Inductee)
Certificate of Merit : The Shed

Training Initiative Award sponsored by Hospitality Group Training
Winner: Burswood Entertainment Complex

Hotel Innovation Award sponsored by HFM Asset Manaagement
Winner: Greenhouse St Georges Terrace

Marketed Hotel Award sponsored by Premium Beverages 
Winner : The George
Certificate of Merit: The Saint George

Retail Liquor Outlet Award sponsored by ME Bank  
Winner: Steves Fine Wine & Food

Safe Cellar Award sponsored by BOC
Winner:  The Shed
Certificate of Merit: The Royal on the Waterfront

Small Bar Award sponsored by 21st Century Business Equipment I Impos
Winner: Elba Cottesloe

Mixology and Cocktail Menu Award sponsored by Pernod Ricard Australia
Winner: Greenhouse St Georges Terrace

Late Night Venue Award sponsored by Easy Payroll
Winner: Niche Bar

Environmental Initiative Award sponsored by Synergy
Winner: Eco Beach Wilderness Retreat

Tourism Initiative Award sponsored by Tourism Western Australia
Winner: Eco Beach Wilderness Retreat

Redeveloped Venue Award sponsored by MegaVision Sound & Lighting
Joint Winners : The Generous Squire
Joint Winners:  The Kewdale Tavern

Outdoor Area Award
Winner:  The Gate Bar and Bistro

Winery Cellar Door Award sponsored by Mosman Glass and Ceramic Printers
Winner: Sandalford Wines, Swan Valley

Boutique Brewery Award sponsored by BOC
Winner: Duckstein Brewery at Saracen Estates, Margaret River


Accommodation Awards

Marketed Accommodation Hotel Award sponsored by Advans Exhibition Services
Winner: Pinctada Cable Beach Resort & Spa

Conference & Banquet Award sponsored by Perth Convention Bureau
Winner:   Burswood Entertainment Complex

Front Office/Guest Services Award sponsored by City of Perth
Winner: Sheraton Perth Hotel

Mid-Range Accommodation Award sponsored by Customers ATM
Winner: Ibis Perth

Superior Accommodation Award sponsored by Furniture Options
Joint Winners : Esplanade Hotel Fremantle
Joint Winners : Rydges Perth Hotel

Deluxe Accommodation Award sponsored by HotelsApart - Bedcovering and Curtain Specialists
Winner : Sheraton Perth Hotel (Hall of Fame Inductee)

Apartment/Suite Acccommodation Award sponsored by Easy Payroll
Winner: Seashells Yallingup

Resort Style Accommodation Award sponsored by Vocational Training Services
Winner: Cable Beach Club Resort and Spa (Hall of Fame Inductee)


Employee Awards

Bar Services Employee Award sponsored by DIAGEO
Winner:   Jason Juraszek, Universal Bar


Cookery Services Employee Award sponsored by Vocational Training Services
Winner: Benjamin Beaton, The Publican Bar & Cafe
Certificate of Merit: Kim-Marie Thompson, Sheraton Perth Hotel

Front Office Services Employee Award sponsored by HOSTPLUS
Winner: Joanne Barnes, Crowne Plaza Perth

Food and Beverage Services Employee Award sponsored by Staging Connections
Winner : Carla Mancini, White Salt
Certificate of Merit: Alyssa Moir, CBD Restaurant & Bar - Rydges Perth Hotel

Administration Employee Award sponsored by HOSTPLUS
Winner : Meg Coffey, The George
Certificate of Merit: Joanne Chang, Rydges Perth Hotel

Employee Excellence in Service Award sponsored by Hospitalitybiz - hospitalityJOBSforU
Winner : Els Jennings, The Breakwater
Certificate of Merit: Dale Young, Rydges Perth Hotel

AHA-HGT Hotel Industry Rising Star Award sponsored by AHA(WA) and Hospitality Group Training
Winner : Taryn Spicer, Holiday Inn City Centre Perth

Venue Manager Award sponsored by HISCO Hospitality & Healthcare
Winner: Caroline Watson, The George


Entertainment Awards

TAB Hotel/PubTAB Venue Award sponsored by Racing and Wagering Western Australia
Winner : The Gate Bar & Bistro

Sporting Entertainment Venue Award sponsored by FOX SPORTS 
Joint Winner : Carbon Bar - Burswood Entertainment Complex (Hall of Fame Inductee)
Joint Winner : The Gate Bar and Bistro

Live Entertainment Award sponsored by APRA
Winner : Settlers Tavern

Themed Bar Award sponsored by Coca-Cola Amatil 
Winner:  Durty Nelly's Irish Pub



Dining Awards

WA's Best Steak Sandwich Award sponsored by Meat Direct
Winner : Inglewood Hotel (Hall of Fame Inductee)

Bar Menu Award sponsored by Customers ATM
Winner: The Breakwater

Bistro Award sponsored by Constellation Wines Australia
Joint Winners : The Gate Bar & Bistro (Hall of Fame Inductee)
Joint Winners: The Queens

Casual Family Dining Award sponsored by Perth Glory
Winner : The High Wycombe Tavern

Restaurant Award sponsored by Wild Oats I Robert Oatley Vineyards
Winner: Restaurant Amuse

Restaurant within a Hotel Award sponsored by 92.9
Winner : ISHKA Restaurant - The Breakwater

Restaurant within an Accommodation Hotel Award sponsored by HLW(WA)
Winner : 150 East Riverside Bar Restaurant - Assured Ascot Quays Apartment Hotel 

Hotel Wine List Award sponsored by Miles from Nowhere
Winner : Steves Fine Wine & Food

Accommodation Hotel/Resort Wine List Award sponsored by Samuel Smith & Son
Winner : Club Restaurant - Cable Beach Club Resort and Spa


Overall Awards

WA's Best Regional Venue 2010 sponsored by H&L Australia
Winner : M on the Point

AHA DeBortoli/6PR Perth Pub of the Year sponsored by AHA(WA), DeBortoli and 6PR
Winner : Whistling Kite

WA's Best Hospitality Venue 2010 sponsored by The West Australian
Winner: The Breakwater

Hospitality Industry Lifetime Achievement Award
Winner: Neil Randall

Corporate Sponsor - AON Risk Services
Trans Tasman
Tip Top Food Service