Welcome to Australian Hostels Association, WA

2009 AHA Aon Hotel Awards for Excellence

Pure Excellence in WA HospitalityAon Risk Services

WA's hotel and hospitality industry stepped out to recognise excellence across the sector. The Lion Nathan Gala Ball and presentation of the 2009 AHA Aon Hotel Awards for Excellence was held in the Grand Ballroom at Burswood Entertainment Complex and drew a crowd of 1100.    Lion Nathan

The AHA(WA) were also are proud to announce that this year'Â’s event was supporting the Carbon Capture Program™. As a result of the AHA(WA) and individual venue contributions, over 1100 Mallee Eucalypt native trees will be planted across WA wheatbelt regions.  

AHA(WA) CEO Bradley Woods said the AHA Aon Hotel Awards for Excellence reflect the high standards prevalent across the industry.

Click here to read the media release     
Click here to view photos of the evening  

2009 Awards for Excellence Food 2009 Awards for Excellence Theme AHA State President Neil Randall 2009 Awards for Excellence









Hotel Awards

Aon Risk Services Community Service Award
Winner : Settlers Tavern, Margaret River

Certificate of Merit : Cuballing Tavern

The Lion Nathan Bar Presentation & Service Award
Winner : The Breakwater

Responsible Service of Alcohol Award sponsored by Coca-Cola Amatil
Joint Winner : Burswood Entertainment Complex 
Joint Winner : The Vic

Training Initiative Award sponsored by Hospitality Group Training
Winner: Accor Hospitality

Hotel Innovation Award sponsored by Carbon Conscious
Winner: Steves Fine Wine & Food

Marketed Hotel/Tavern Award sponsored by Premium Beverages 
Winner : The Left Bank Cafe Bar Restaurant  

Retail Liquor Outlet Award sponsored by ME Bank  
Winner: Osborne Park Hotel
Certificate of Merit: Steves Fine Wine & Food

Safe Cellar Award sponsored by BOC
Winner:  The Shed

Environmental Initiative Award sponsored by Synergy
Winner: Parmelia Hilton Perth

Redeveloped Hotel/Tavern Award sponsored by MegaVision Sound & Lighting
Winner : The Breakwater

Redevloped Outdoor Area Award supported by British American Tobacco
Winner:   Southerlys Harbour View Bar & Restaurant


Accommodation Awards

Marketed Accommodation Hotel/Resort Award sponsored by Advans Exhibition Services
Winner: Parmelia Hilton Perth

Tourism Initiative Award sponsored by Tourism Western Australia
Winner: Karijini Eco Retreat

Conference & Banquet Services Award sponsored by Perth Convention Bureau
Winner:  Holiday Inn City Centre Perth 

Concierge & Guest Services Award sponsored by City of Perth
Winner: Esplanade Hotel Fremantle

Pub/Hotel Accommodation Award sponsored by Mal Atwell Indoor Leisure Group
Winner:   Royal Hotel, Perth

Mid-Range Accommodation Award sponsored by Customers ATM
Winner: Perth Ambassador Hotel

Superior Accommodation Award sponsored by Furniture Options
Winner : Esplanade Hotel Fremantle

Deluxe Accommodation Award sponsored by HotelsApart
Winner : Sheraton Perth Hotel

Apartment/Suite Acccommodation Award sponsored by KP Electric
Winner: Assured Ascot Quays Apartment Hotel

Resort Style Accommodation Award sponsored by Surf Life Saving Western Australia
Winner: Cable Beach Club Resort and Spa 

Redeveloped Accommodation Hotel/Resort Award sponsored by HFM Asset Management
Winner: Broadwater Resort Apartments Como

Regional Accommodation Hotel/Resort of the Year sponsored by HISCO Hospitality & Healthcare
Winner:   Pinctada Cable Beach Resort & Spa


Employee Awards

Bar Services Employee Award sponsored by DIAGEO
Winner:   Jason Juraszek, Universal Bar
Certificate of Merit: Karl Burke, The Shed 

Cookery Services Employee Award sponsored by Vocational Training Services
Winner: David Winnett, Duxton Hotel Perth

Front Office Services Employee Award sponsored by HOSTPLUS
Winner: Nigel Jenkins, Esplanade Hotel Fremantle

Dining & Banquet Services Employee Award sponsored by Staging Connections
Winner : Lenka Goldsmidova, Parmelia Hilton Perth 
Certificate of Merit : Stevie-Nyx Ruki, Esplanade Hotel Fremantle

Administration Employee Award sponsored by HOSTPLUS
Winner : Taryn Spicer, Crowne Plaza Perth
Certificate of Merit  : Meg Coffey, The George

Employee Excellence in Service Award sponsored by Hospitalitybiz - hospitalityJOBSforU
Winner : Claire Wynne, J.B. O'Reilly's

AHA-HGT Hotel Industry Rising Star Award sponsored by AHA(WA) and Hospitality Group Training
Winner : Claire Bateman, Holiday Inn City Centre Perth


Entertainment Awards

TAB Hotel/PubTAB Venue Award sponsored by Racing and Wagering Western Australia
Winner : Last Chance Tavern

Sporting Entertainment Venue Award sponsored by Fox Sports
Joint Winner : Carbon Bar - Burswood Entertainment Complex
Joint Winner : Greenwood Hotel

Live Entertainment Award sponsored by APRA
Joint Winner : Charles Hotel
Joint Winner : Paddington Ale House
Certificate of Merit : Mundaring Weir Hotel

Themed Bar Award
Sporting Entertainment Venue Award sponsored by Coca-Cola Amatil 
Winner: Belgium Beer Cafe Westende
Certificate of Merit : J.B. O'Reilly's

Contemporary/Late Night Bar Award sponsored by Smart Beverages 
Joint Winner : The Cabin
Joint Winner : The George


Dining Awards

WA's Best Steak Sandwich Award sponsored by Meat Direct
Winner : Inglewood Hotel

Bistro Award sponsored by Constellation Wines Australia
Winner : The Gate Bar & Bistro
Certificate of Merit: Port Kennedy Tavern

Casual Family Dining Award sponsored by Evoke Media
Joint Winner : Clancy's Fish Pub Fremantle
Joint Winner : Seven Mile Inn

Hotel/Tavern Restaurant Award sponsored by 92.9
Joint Winner : Subiaco Hotel (Hall of Fame)
Joint Winner : Ishka Restaurant, The Breakwater

Restaurant Award sponsored by The West Australian 
Joint Winner : Wise Vineyard Restaurant
Joint Winner : Zafferano 

Accommodation Hotel/Resort Restaurant Award sponsored by HLW(WA)
Winner : SELENE Brasserie, Pinctada Cable Beach Resort & Spa

Hotel/Tavern Wine List Award sponsored Pernod Ricard Australia
Winner : The George
Certificate of Merit : Steves Fine Wine & Food

Accommodation Hotel/Resort Wine List Award sponsored by Samuel Smith & Son
Winner : (A)LURE Dining & Bar, Burswood Entertainment Complex (Hall of Fame)


Overall Awards

Regional Hotel/Tavern of the Year sponsored by H&L Australia
Winner : Settlers Tavern 

AHA DeBortoli/6PR Perth Pub of the Year sponsored by AHA(WA), DeBortoli and 6PR
Winner : The Gate Bar & Bistro

Hospitality Industry Lifetime Achievement Award
Winner: Murray McHenry



Corporate Sponsor - AON Risk Services
Evergy Action
Mal Atwell